McCormick Cup

McCormick Cup

The McCormick Cup is a long-standing tradition in Ontario rugby; a term synonymous with Rugby Ontario. The Cup is the title championship for Rugby Ontario's Marshall Premiership & Championship Senior Men’s First Teams, along with the annual EORU Champion.

The Cup is named for former Rugby Ontario President Vic McCormick, one of the great builders of the sport in our province and a member of the Rugby Ontario Hall of Fame (Class of ’01).

The McCormick Cup (including previous Ontario Cup/Carling Cup) has been hoisted 15 times by Balmy Beach, 15 times by the Markham Irish (previously Irish Canadians), seven times by the Toronto Nomads and six times by Ottawa Irish.

2016 McCormick Cup

The 2016 McCormick Cup Final was held on October 22 at Fletcher's Fields in Markham Ontario.


ROUND 1 - September 24, 2016

 Away Score Home  Score  Note 
Brantford Harlequins 73 Ajax Wanderers  14   
Waterloo County   Bytown Blues 20  DEFAULT 
Markham Irish  Brampton Beavers  13   
Oakville Crusaders  45  Peterborough Pagans  22   
Toronto Scottish  20  Oshawa Vikings  DEFAULT 
Stoney Creek  13  Lindsay  66   
Balmy Beach  53  Toronto Nomads  24   
Aurora Barbarians 12  London St. George's  57   

ROUND 2 (QUARTER FINALS) - October 1, 2016

 Away Score Home  Score  Note 
Bytown Blues 7 Brantford Harlequins 43  
Brampton Beavers   7 Oakville Crusaders 37  
Lindsay RFC 0 Toronto Scottish 11  
London St. George's 19 Balmy Beach  20


 Away Score Home  Score  Note 

Ajax Wanderers  BYE  
Peterborough Pagans 5 Markham Irish 25  

Stoney Creek BYE  
Toronto Nomads 25 Aurora Barbarians 10

ROUND 3 (SEMI FINALS) - October 15, 2016

Away Score Home  Score  Note 
Oakville Crusaders 18 Brantford Harlequins 24  
Balmy Beach   16 Toronto Scottish 18  


Away Score Home  Score  Note 
Ajax Wanderers 7 Markham Irish 61  
Toronto Nomads   19 Stoney Creek 24  

ROUND 4 (FINALS) - October 22, 2016 - Fletcher's Fields

 Competition Away Score Home  Score  Note 
 Final Toronto Scottish 17 Brantford Harlequins 37  
 Consolation Markham Irish 55 Stoney Creek 7  

2016 McCormick Cup Champions: Brantford Harlequins

Past McCormick Cup Champions


© 2017 Rugby Ontario. All Rights Reserved. Powered by CanSport LIVE.

WordPress Tutorials
DNN Support